Bertrand Klaiber, EE, MBA
Vorstandsvorsitzender (CEO)

Bertrand Klaiber hat eine über 20-jährige Erfahrung in Innovationsmanagement, Strategie – Marketing und Geschäftsentwicklung wobei er sich insbesondere auf Schwellenmärkte spezialisierte. Er hat 1994 sein Studium der Elektrotechnik an der EPFL (Eidgenössischen Technischen Hochschule Lausanne und zusätzlich 2004 seinen MBA (Magister der Betriebswirtschaftslehre) mit Ehrauszeichnung an der Universität Lausanne abgeschlossen. Er war in vielzähligen internationalen Unternehmen, namentlich Motorola Semiconductors, Logitech und LEM, beschäftigt, wobei er Tätigkeiten mit zunehmendem Verantwortungsniveau – vom Projektmanagement hin zum Global Marketing Manager – übernahm.
In 2010 hat Bertrand die „EssentialMed“ Stiftung mitbegründet, deren Mission darin besteht den ärmeren Regionen unserer Welt den Zugang zu angemessenen medizinischen Technologien zu verschaffen. Er war ebenso ein Mitglied jenes Teams, welches das GlobalDiagnostiX Projekt initiiert hat. Dieses wurde infolge einer Beobachtung, dass die meisten Menschen, die im Süden im Gesundheitswesen tätig sind – oft heldenhaft – in ihren Kliniken mit einem Mangel an verlässlicher medizinischer Ausrüstung auskommen müssen, ins Leben gerufen. Dieses Projekt hatte sich die Entwicklung eines neuartigen, medizinischen Bildgebungsgerätes, speziell für solche Bedingungen, zum Ziel gesetzt. Von 2012 bis 2015, leitete Bertrand an der EPFL in enger Zusammenarbeit mit mehreren Forschungs- und Medizinischen Instituten die Entwicklung der Technologie. In seiner Überzeugung, dass sowohl hohe Rentabilität als auch großer Nutzen für die Gesellschaft zeitgleich und gemeinsam erreicht werden können, entwickelte er ein originäres Geschäftsmodell und gründete das Pristem Unternehmen, um seinen Lösungsansatz wirtschaftlich zu verbreiten und einzusetzen. Er entwickelte ferner an der EPFL das EssentialTech Programm, mit welchem Pristem fortwährend eng zusammenarbeitet, um weitere medizinische Ausrüstungen zu entwickeln, die so dringend in den Schwellenmärkten benötigt werden.

Stéphane Velan, MScM
CFO, Head of  Sales, co-founder

Swiss, born in 1961, graduated with a degree in business management, Master of Science in Management from HEC University in Lausanne and PED program in international management at IMD, Stéphane has more than 20 years’ Management & Operational experience and expertise and has held senior executive positions (Chairman, Board member/President du Directoire and CEO) for more than 10 years in numerous Swiss and international companies, in various activities, with different types of shareholders/investors.

Stephane has an impressive track record in Business building & Management (incl. Luxury & Watches, telecommunication, high-tech start-ups, Strategic Project), in Finance (M&A, Investment funds, Venture Capital, Equity fundraising, structured finance, financial engineering, portfolio management, credits & risks, tax optimisation), and Consulting (strategy, Business development, operational, production, marketing & sales). He has led multidisciplinary operational teams of experts, has managed large budgets and many large teams throughout his career.

Founder member of the Foundation Essentialmed, Stephane has actively participated to the definition of the strategy of the Foundation and to the concept of developing and deploying effective, high-quality and affordable medical devices, adapted to the needs of impoverished communities across the globe. He has notably been part of the first concrete project named “GlobalDiagnostiX” developped and fully supported by EPFL, Lausanne, that became Pristem SA.

Stéphane founded in 2010 the Swiss Watch Company Frères Rochat SA, specialised in the Singing Bird automatons, which he sold in 2016.

Romain Sahli, ICT
Projektmanager, Systemingenieur

Romain Sahli ist ein Softwareingenieur mit etlichen Jahren an Berufserfahrung in der Industriebranche für medizinische Produkte. Nachdem er sein Studium der Kommunikationssysteme mit einer Spezialisierung auf dem Gebiet der Bildgebung an der EPFL abschloss, war Romain Sahli als Softwareingenieur bei Varian Medical Systems, einem der weltweit führenden Hersteller von Apparaturen zur medizinischen Strahlenbehandlung, tätig. Er arbeitete während der gesamten Entwicklungsphase in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Abteilung des Projektmanagements und der Qualitätstechnik und nahm am technischen Entscheidungsprozess teil. Ende 2013 trat er dem Managementteam von GlobalDiagnostiX bei. Er war verantwortlich für die Koordination von über 40 beschäftigen Wissenschaftlern, Ingenieuren, medizinischen Sachverständigen und externen Partnern, sowie für die Bündelung der gemeinsamen Zielsetzungen und deren Übertragung auf die Konzeption eines geeigneten Röntgengeräts. Darüber hinaus war er für alle technischen Vorgaben als auch Systemanforderungen und nutzerbezogene Aspekte zuständig und stand kontinuierlich im vermittelnden Kontakt zu den Ansprechpersonen und Partnern in Afrika.

Name wird vertraulich behandelt , MT, PhD
Technischer Direktor/CTO

Unser potentieller technischer Direktor hat umfangreiches Wissen auf dem Gebiet des hochtechnologischen R&D Team Managements. Er war 20 Jahre im Bereich der technischen Entwicklung und 16 Jahre in der Verwaltung von fachübergreifenden Teams aktiv. Diese entwickelten Industrie-, Zugkraft- und Automobilprodukte von höchster Qualität, welche sich aus Elektronik, Sensoren, integrierter Software und mechanischen Komponenten zusammensetzten. Er hat einen Masterabschluss in Mikroingenieurwesen und trägt einen Doktortitel der EPFL in angewandter Wissenschaft. Während seiner Karriere, hat er an vielfältigen Forschungsprogrammen teilgenommen und erreichte die erfolgreiche Implementierung wissenschaftlicher Forschungsarbeit in industrielle Endprodukte. In seiner Verantwortung für die zeitgerechte/qualitative/kostengerechte Ausarbeitung von Strategieplänen für vollständig ausgearbeitete Produkte, bildete er fachübergreifende Teams sowie vereinigte Arbeitsprozesse, zur erfolgreichen Erreichung seiner Ziele und bekam dabei die sich kontinuierlich entfaltenden Bedürfnisse auf dem technischen Gebiet und im Businessbereich in den Griff.

Name wird vertraulich behandelt , EE
COO, Einsatzleiter, Qualität und RA

Unser potentieller COO ist eine engagierte und ergebnisorientierte Führungskraft mit Blick für Innovationen und mit eigenen Visionen, welche ihren Fokus auf die Erreichung von höchster Leistung und der Umwandlung von Unternehmen in herausfordernden Umgebungen gelegt hat. In den letzten 20 Jahren hat er fortschreitend Fachwissen im Bereich der zweckmäßigen Verwaltung/ der Programmleitung/ der Portfolioverwaltung und der Geschäftsleistung in höchst regulierten Industriebranchen (Aerospace and MedTech) erworben. Er war jeweils Projektleiter, Direktor im Bereich der medizinischen Produktentwicklung, Technischer Direktor und Standortmanager innerhalb einer Vielzahl von Medtech Unternehmen, einschließlich eines Unternehmens, welches für die diagnostische Bildgebung führend ist. Als Spezialist für die Verwaltung des Produkts während seiner gesamten Lebensdauer, was vollumfänglich die Forschung, Entwicklung, Qualitätssicherung, Regulierung, Fertigung, Lieferung und den Wartung erfasst, hat er erfolgreich Organisationen für die Herstellung medizinischer Produkte konzipiert und ins Leben gerufen, hat Partnerschaften mit wichtigen Entscheidungsträgern aufgebaut, die Produktivität erhöht und die Markteinführungszeit verringert.

Bertrand Klaiber, EE, MBA
CEO, co-founder

Bertrand Klaiber has 20+ years’ experience in innovation management, strategic marketing and business development, with particular focus on emerging markets. He graduated in electrical engineering at EPFL in 1994, and completed an MBA with honors at the University of Lausanne in 2004. He worked for several international companies, namely Motorola Semiconductors, Logitech and LEM, assuming increasing levels of responsibility from project management to worldwide strategic marketing manager.

In 2010 Bertrand co-created the EssentialMed foundation whose mission consists in providing access to appropriate medical technologies to impoverished communities across the globe. He was part of the team that initiated GlobalDiagnostiX project, which arose from the observation that most health workers in the South have to deal – often heroically – with the lack of reliable medical equipment in their hospitals. This project aimed to develop a new medical imaging system specifically for these contexts. From 2012 to 2015, Bertrand led the development of the technology at EPFL with a consortium of several research and medical institutes. Convinced that both high profitability and large social impact could be achieved simultaneously, he developed an original business model and founded the Pristem company to industrialize and deploy the solution. He also developed the EssentialTech program at EPFL, with which Pristem continues to work closely to develop other medical equipment highly needed in emerging markets.

Stéphane Velan, MScM
CFO, Head of  Sales, co-founder

Swiss, born in 1961, graduated with a degree in business management, Master of Science in Management from HEC University in Lausanne and PED program in international management at IMD, Stéphane has more than 20 years’ Management & Operational experience and expertise and has held senior executive positions (Chairman, Board member/President du Directoire and CEO) for more than 10 years in numerous Swiss and international companies, in various activities, with different types of shareholders/investors.

Stephane has an impressive track record in Business building & Management (incl. Luxury & Watches, telecommunication, high-tech start-ups, Strategic Project), in Finance (M&A, Investment funds, Venture Capital, Equity fundraising, structured finance, financial engineering, portfolio management, credits & risks, tax optimisation), and Consulting (strategy, Business development, operational, production, marketing & sales). He has led multidisciplinary operational teams of experts, has managed large budgets and many large teams throughout his career.

Founder member of the Foundation Essentialmed, Stephane has actively participated to the definition of the strategy of the Foundation and to the concept of developing and deploying effective, high-quality and affordable medical devices, adapted to the needs of impoverished communities across the globe. He has notably been part of the first concrete project named “GlobalDiagnostiX” developped and fully supported by EPFL, Lausanne, that became Pristem SA.

Stéphane founded in 2010 the Swiss Watch Company Frères Rochat SA, specialised in the Singing Bird automatons, which he sold in 2016.

Romain Sahli, ICT
Project Manager, Software Engineer

Romain Sahli is a software engineer with several years of experience in the medical devices industry. After graduating in Communication Systems at the EPFL with a specialization in image processing, Romain Sahli worked for two years as a software engineer at Varian Medical Systems, the worldwide leading manufacturer of radiation therapy medical equipment. He worked closely with the project management office and quality engineers during the whole development phase and participated in the technical decision processes. He joined the GlobalDiagnostiX management team at the end of 2013. He was responsible for coordinating the work of more than 40 scientists, engineers, medical experts and external partners, and communicating common objectives towards the conception of the appropriate x-ray device. Moreover he is in charge of managing all the technical specifications as well as the system requirements and user aspects, constantly liaising with stakeholders and partners in Africa.

Name kept confidential, MT, PhD
CTO, Head of Engineering

Our potential CTO has extensive knowledge in high-tech R&D team management. He has 20 years of activity in technical development and 16 years in managing multidisciplinary teams developing high quality industrial, traction and automotive products composed of electronic, sensors, embedded software and mechanical components. He holds a master’s degree in micro-engineering and a PhD in applied science from EPFL. During his career, he has participated to several research programs and has achieved successful transfers of academic research works into industrial products. Responsible for the on-time/quality/cost delivery of full product development roadmaps, he has built multidisciplinary teams and associated work processes to successfully achieve his objectives and cope with constantly evolving technical fields and business needs.

Name kept confidential, EE
COO, Head of Operations, Quality & RA

Our potential COO is an innovative, visionary, engaged and results-driven leader who focused on achieving high performance and company transformations in challenging environments. Over the last 20 years he progressively acquired functional/program/portfolio & general management expertise in highly regulated industries (Aerospace and MedTech). He was respectively Project leader, Director of Medical Devices Development, Chief Technology Officer and Site Manager within several Medtech firms including a leading diagnostic imaging company. Expert in managing the entire product life cycle encompassing research, development, quality, regulatory, manufacturing, supply and services, he successfully designed and deployed medical device organizations, built partnerships with key decision makers, increased productivity and reduced time to market.